Fall for the Book has ended
Back To Schedule
Thursday, October 11 • 4:30pm - 5:45pm
Wanting More: Coming-of-Age Novels

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Feedback form is now closed.
The coming-of-age novel is a staple of great literature. Silver Girl, by Leslie Pietrzyk is set in the American Midwest with a main character itching to leave her poor family behind in exchange for a rich best friend and a few frat parties. Then, as the relationships she forms begin to define her, the girl is faced with greed, desire, and a local psychopath called the Tylenol Killer. Jon Pineda’s novel, Let’s No One Get Hurt takes place in the American South. 15-year-old Pearl is squatting on a houseboat with her father and his three friends when she meets the rich teenage boy whose parents own that very property. They become unequal friends as Pearl learns about how differences in race and socioeconomics can result in violence and humiliation. 

avatar for Leslie Pietrzyk

Leslie Pietrzyk

Leslie Pietrzyk is the author of Silver Girl, released in February 2018 by Unnamed Press, and called “profound, mesmerizing, and disturbing” in a Publishers Weekly starred review. Her collection of unconventionally linked short stories, This Angel on My Chest, won the 2015... Read More →
avatar for Jon Pineda

Jon Pineda

Jon Pineda is the author of the novel Let's No One Get Hurt (FSG).  His other books include the memoir Sleep in Me, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, and the novel Apology, winner of the Milkweed National Fiction Prize.  His recent poetry collection Little Anodynes... Read More →